MRI

Posted: September 20, 2011 in brain cancer awareness, developments, treatment

image courtesy of Lewis center for Neuro Imaging http://lcni.uoregon.edu

(the person pictured above is not me) ๐Ÿ™‚

photo courtesy of Lewis Center for Neuro Imaging

I had my MRI done last Saturday at St. Luke’s Q.C. Its a one hour session. If you’re claustrophobic, you won’t like it. The tube is so small that you’ll think that its caving in on you. I don’t mean to scare but that’s just how it feels when you’re reeled in. The room is cold,the MRI machine is cold and noisy. You lie on your back, and for an hour or more(depending on the body part that will be MRI-ed) and you’re not allowed to move. Oh and you’re strapped in the bed to prevent you from moving. You’ll be given ear muffs to help with the loud noise and a panic button in case claustro kicks in. Good thing is Nina was allowed to be beside me during the session. When the session starts you’ll here a lot of different construction-like noise, sometimes star trek-like noise as if you’re engaged in inter-galactic dog fight. That’s my cue to start my prayers, to take my mind off claustro, boredom and to ask HIM for good results. Got the results yesterday from my doctor, well, the result was same as last time, the tumor is still there but at least it did not multiply and it didn’t grew bigger. I said “thank God!! I’ll take it!” another good news is : no more chemo yet, i will be monitored via MRI every 3mos. I will also be taking a supplement to improve my immunity (Zilongjin). Please let me know if you’ve heard of it. Still, i’m begging for your prayers for complete healing. Thank so much for the support in whatever form, to you who’s reading this, you’ve helped extend my stay here on earth ๐Ÿ™‚ salamat!

Comments
  1. thank God for positive results pareng Jason:)

    I remember my MRI a few years back…also at St. Luke’s QC. I had to have my lower back MRI for possible surgery. Imagine my physical size and to be inside for around 45 minutes to 1 hour. I didn’t bother with the earmuff anymore and my wife had to stay outside the room. My only conversation was the radiologist technician talking to me every 15 minutes (him outside the room) via 2 way intercom in the room…”ok ka lang ba dyan Sir…” I wanted to get up and smack him in the head for that question but I guess he’s only doing his job… :p

    I also remember coming out and a women patient on the other MRI room becoming hysterical once she found out she had to redo her MRI because she moved…

    I heard other hospitals like De Los Santos Medical Center has the new technology MRI machine that will not put you inside the coffin like tube. My Mom is claustrophobic and that is where she had her MRI I believe…

    will continue to pray for your complete recovery pare!!

    • thanks arg!

      i didnt really want to mention it ๐Ÿ™‚ but you are exactly right, the spot on description is “coffin like tube” but since this is like my nth time to do it , i was already accustomed to the feeling of claustro ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Tyrone says:

    I just had my first MRI yesterday at a Militaryhospital as I am a Navy Retiree.. You couldn’t have given me a better visual idea of what to expect. I wish I had your ensight prior to my session.. I thought I was never Closterphobic after 21 year of living aboard ships but this was an entirely different setting. Although I successfully maintained my composure throughout the procedure, I could feel some anxiety coming on and although it was never suggested, I found myself most relaxed when I decided to keep my eyes closed from beginning to end..I moved my head once and my nose touched the facial/head enclosure. I was very surprised over how little room I had inside but I kept my eyes closed because I didn’t want to freak-out..I must confess that there were moments when I was ready to push that “Panic-button”.. The technician who gave me the MRI, stopped the procedure momentarily to tell me that “We’ll have to go a bit longer because my slight movement, prevented the machine to give a complete picture”. I was cool with that and shortly thereafter we were done.. Thank God…

Leave a Reply

