conquer that escalator!!

Posted: January 24, 2012 in random entries, Uncategorized, what's up? :) or down :(

Just this weekend, we took Jolo to Shoemart, Makati to buy new school shoes.  He’s complaining that his old pair is already uncomfortable. “sikip na po ang shoes.” and since i also needed a new pair of sandals to fit in my orthoses, we went to the mall.  the men’s shoe dept.  was at the 2nd floor, Niña was suggesting i get off at Ace and take the elevator going to the second floor, meet them there so that it’ll be easier for me.  When we got their I said  I think i can manage the escalators inside the department store.  my occupational therapist has taught me a lot of pointers when riding the escalator and have even practiced with the escalators inside the hospital.  So with Ling,  my sister in law, she accompanied me going to the second floor. My heart pounding like the dragon dance drums, strong (right) leg first, strong (right) leg first! i kept reminding myself. (i am a “left leg first” person, blame CAT & ROTC training for that)  When we reached the second floor, I was so relieved. whew!! It was my first time to do it outside the hospital.  After that Ling and I had an “i-thought-you-knew-her” moment.  A woman, maybe in her mid-40’s came up to me and said with a big smile: “I’m so happy for you.  I’m so glad that you are walking!” she also said that she has a relative who’s 39 years old,  a stroke victim (mayba she thought that I was one as well), who chose to be bed ridden and would refuse to walk. Because of the adrenalin, all i can mutter was a “thank you po.” Never had a chance to ask her name, like she was in a hurry.  I looked at ling and told her: “Akala ko kilala mo?” Ling: akala ko nga friend mo e.”  After that i just thought, maybe another angel? If only i could talk to her relative…

anyway, back to conquering that escalator, i did it twice on that same day.  i felt so alive!  🙂  “ang babaw”,  you might say, but it just so mean so much to be able to do  these  things again after a long time thinking if i got to do it again, i can be back to normal again if i want to and i believe I’m getting there.  🙂

on my to do list when i get back to a 100%

  • drive the car again (to Baguio and back)
  • wash the car again
  • teach my kids how to swim
  • teach my kids to ride a bike
  • get my wife to run with me again.

Ü

“A Christian should be an Alleluia from head to foot.”
Saint Augustine

Comments
  1. Michelle says:

    Congratulations! Hehehe

  2. on my to do list when i get back to a 100%

    drive the car again (to Baguio and back)
    wash the car again
    teach my kids how to swim
    teach my kids to ride a bike
    get my wife to run with me again.

    and get my sister a boyfriend. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

  3. kara says:

    happy for you! as long as you have faith in God and in yourself, you can do anything! keep it up.. take care! a big hug to my good college friend 🙂 God bless you and your family always…

  4. jiLL says:

    hahaha @ella.

    and shoot weddings with Jill again. 🙂

  5. well said…master… well said…. hands down to you… your faith will heal you

Leave a Reply

